Day 11 in Boulder

The surprising thing about Boulder is that, even if the weather reports all say it’s below zero, it doesn’t actually feel that way. I went out today with thermal undergarments under a shirt and khakis, and I was pretty much fine.

I heard mass with Tita Sockie at the Sacred Heart of Mary (I never knew there was such a thing) Church in Lousville. They had ministers holding chalices so it’s probably a bit safer to conclude that it’s a common practice in America.

I went to Target afterwards and bought a number of gadgets including a pair of noise-cancelling headphones for the plane. I also bought a cardigan that was on sale, and a black director’s hat (it’s really just one of those New York cabbie hats but it can pass for a director’s hat!). I really love the selections at Target. It’s just so convenient!

I got my first taste of real (sorta) rock climbing today. Uncle Richard took me to this outdoor goods store somewhere in Denver where we climbed a path (is that what you call it?) that was a 5-7 on a scale of 5.0 to 5,15. So it was hard enough to be challenging but easy enough for me to get all the way to the top. It required a lot of upper body strength which I didn’t really have, but I managed to find my way to the top nonetheless. It wasn’t easy though, and my forearms ached afterwards. I stretched them so hopefully they don’t hurt as much tomorrow.

We headed over to a small bar/restaurant called Gordon Biersch where we watched the Superbowl while I ate a Kobe Beef Cheeseburger that was delicious. It was my first time watching it, and I was not disappointed. Even the commercials were amazing. They should be–they cost $3.5 million a spot. We stayed until Madonna’s extravagant but amazing halftime performance, and then continued the game at home.

I was rooting for the Giants since I had just come from New York where all my cousins were cheering them on and I enjoyed seeing their amazing comeback. You don’t need to know much about football (I was learning as I was watching) to enjoy the great passes and the great tackles. Bradshaw’s drive and touchdown was amazing as well! The Patriots played well and I’m glad it really came down to the last pass. Games are more exciting that way.

I’m going to go skiing tomorrow! I am so excited. I hope I don’t freeze to death.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

