Day 10 in Boulder

Snow, glorious snow!

I left Maryland this morning to fly four hours west and one mile high to Denver, Colorado, the Mile-High City. Even if I was one of the last to board, I managed to get a seat on the front row in between two elderly men. It didn’t have a tray table, but I did get unlimited refills since we were right next to the stewardesses.

As we neared Denver, all you could see was a white blanket of snow. There was a blizzard yesterday and all the flights were cancelled. You could see why! There was about a foot of snow covering the ground.

The flight was actually pretty smooth. When we landed, the stewardess commented, “Just so y’all know, that was a great landing.” It was the bags that took long though, and I had to wait a half hour to get all my bags ready. Thankfully, Uncle Richard was already there and we spent the time chatting away.

We passed by a delicious gourmet burger place called Red Robin, where I had a delicious Bacon Cheeseburger. I’m not quite sure if i like it better than Five Guys, but it’s definitely within that league. We took out a couple of burgers for lunch, then had snow for dessert. Yes, actual snow! We got snow from the backyard and mixed it with cream, milk, and sugar. It was delicious!

I got to visit a Walmart as well today. It was really something! I have never seen any supermarket quite as large or as stocked. We picked out a couple of things and headed home. Uncle Richard made this delicious baked salmon with a crust of breadcrumbs, pecan, and parsley with baked potatoes. We had banana foster a la mode for dessert.

In other news, I forgot to mention that yesterday, the waiter at the restaurant (Fogo de Chao is the name) asked me about my camera because he had apparently bought a Canon 5D. Wow, waiters with SLRs! I wonder how much they make.

In other news, Jim Paredes shared Fine Dining on his Twitter account! He said that he really enjoyed it. I can’t wait to see how far we’ll go.

Colorado is pretty cold, but so far I’m alive. I can’t wait to see what else this icy town has in store for me!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

